• 02:37:58 am on March 25, 2007 | 0

    It took awhile, but at last I found what I’m looking for.

    Some people dedicate their entire lives searching for a purpose, when the purpose is always there… We are just too busy to see it. As strange as it sounds I ‘saw’ mine on Friday night while serving wine and sodas at an artist-run gallery. I decided last week that I would start giving back to the arts community.

    “So I spent the evening doing things that I for some reason don’t know why I’ve stopped doing. I looked at art. I talked to artists. I met fascinating curators.”

    It seems like everyone’s always out to receive from others. Then they spend even more time questioning why they aren’t receiving (yet). Why not try giving first? Who knew that giving without remembering would create such abundance in my life? So I spent the evening doing things that I for some reason don’t know why I’ve stopped doing. I looked at art. I talked to artists. I met fascinating curators. And geeze – finally I spoke to people who were just as passionate about the arts as I am. It was so self-rejuvenating. Words like Rothko, Frank Stella, color-field paintings…it’s been awhile since I got to even say those words to anyone who cared to understand. Not that to be harsh, but I think that one of the many reasons why so many artists get together so often is because we understand each other on a different level. Anyhow, it was a terrific experience!

    Coincidentally I was lucky enough to reunite with one of my previous professors at the opening, and what a surprise it was for the both of us. Shelly Bahl, has an exhibition coming up on April 4th, so if you get a chance drop by for the opening (click here for additional information) Other people who made my first day super fun… Chris, thank you for being so kind and you’ve completely made me feel at home on my first day of work. I met another gentleman who actually works for Frank Stella! Crazy! So ‘wild’! And yes, we are all lining up for your job ;)

    So what else is new…Well, I’m moving in about a couple months, and I’m extremely excited about the move. Moving downtown would ease much of the commute which will make it much easier for me to get back into the arts community. So yes, when I have spare time now I’m cleaning, packing things and giving away to the Salvation Army :) Other than that, everything else is looking pretty great!

     

     

Leave a Reply

